S Korea president picks new unification minister, 6 others


South Korean President Moon Jae-in carried out a cabinet reshuffle, appointing the new unification minister, in charge of relations with the North, and six other ministers, local media reported on Friday. The Yonhap news agency reported, citing the presidential palace, that Moon picked Kim Yeon-chul, the head of the country’s Institute for National Unification, as the new unification minister to replace Cho Myoung-gyon.

Moon also appointed university professor Cho Dong-ho as the new science minister, while Park Yang-woo, who is also a university professor, was picked to become the minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism.Ex-vice transportation minister Choi Jeong-ho was appointed the new minister of transportation and university professor Moon Seong-hyeok was nominated as the new oceans minister. Lawmaker Chin Young was named the new minister for the Interior and Security, while another lawmaker Park Young-sun was picked as the minister of Small and Medium Enterprises and Venture Firms.

The outlet noted that cabinet reshuffle came as the Moon administration was preparing for the second half of his presidential term.The agency added that the reshuffle followed the decision of several former ministers to run in the upcoming National Assembly elections. The South Korean law prohibits government officials from running in legislative elections. (UNI)

Show More

Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker