Nitish Kumar all set to become Bihar CM for forth time

New Delhi

Nitish Kumar will be the Chief Minister of Bihar for the fourth consecutive term. Nitish Kumar is expected to take oath around 4.30 pm on Monday.

Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan on Sunday invited Nitish Kumar to form the new government in Bihar after the latter went to the Raj Bhavan here to present a list of 125 NDA MLAs and stake his claim.

The NDA had won the recently concluded elections in Bihar and the alliance had got 125 of Bihar’s 243 assembly seats, three above the halfway mark.

Despite speculations, the MLAs of the ruling alliance named 69-year-old Nitish Kumar as the Chief Minister.

The anti-incumbency factor was evident as the JDU led by Nitish Kumar faced sharp fall in number of seats this election.

The anger of the voters was mainly due to mishandling of the migrants issues during the lockdown and local-level corruption.

Janata Dal United fell from 71 seats in 2015 to 43, giving the BJP (74 seats) an upper hand in the alliance. Soon many raised concerns over the decision of the BJP to make Nitish Kumar the Chief Minister again, given the fact that JDU had put up poor performance in the polls.

The NDA leader said that he had presented the list of 125 newly elected MLAs of NDA partners BJP, Janata Dal-United, Hindustani Awam Morcha, Vikashsheel Insaan Party and claimed to form the new government.

“Our letter has been accepted by the Governor who invited us to form the new government in Bihar,” Nitish said.

He however did not clarify on the Deputy CM’s post.

Meanwhile, Union Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi also reached the Governor’s House to meet Chauhan.

Show More

Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker