Deadlock continues in Shivamogga ZP


In the wake of continuation of the stand-off between members of ruling JD(S)-Congress and opposition BJP over the formation of Standing Committees, the general body meeting of Shivamogga Zilla Panchayat held here on Wednesday was adjourned sine die without transacting any business.

The special meeting of the Zilla Panchayat convened on August 24 and general body meeting held on September 18 were also adjourned owing to lack of quorum. The BJP members had abstained from the earlier meetings to register their protest against delay in formation of the committees.

When the meeting began on Wednesday, the members of ruling combine and BJP entered into an argument over the delay in formation of the committees. In the wake of the commotion, Jyothi Kumar, president, adjourned the meeting for 45 minutes. When the House resumed, all 15 members of BJP did not turn up. Citing lack of quorum, Ms. Kumar adjourned the meeting sine die .

In the 35-member body, BJP has 15 members, Congress and JD(S) seven each and one is an independent. One seat has fallen vacant following the death of a member. The equations in the ZP changed following the recent Assembly election. The BJP won six of the seven Assembly segments in the district. In addition to this, of the five MLCs from the district, two belong to the BJP. As MLAs and MLCs enjoy voting rights for the standing committees, if election is held, BJP claims that it can win three committees.

Of the three standing committees, the BJP is demanding two while the ruling combination wants one committee each for all the three parties. The failure to reach to consensus over the issue has resulted in the deadlock.

  1. Shivarame Gowda, CEO; Kumar Bangarappa, Sorab MLA; Araga Jnanendra, Tirthahalli MLA; Ayanur Manjunath, S. Rudre Gowda and R. Prasanna Kumar, MLCs, attended the meeting.
Show More

Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker