Coalition government’s mission in the state was to take 20 percent commission: Modi


Slamming the ruling Congress alliance and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), on Friday Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the coalition government’s mission in the state was to take 20 percent commission in each deal-making process.

“Both the defeated parties came together after the Assembly elections last year to form a ‘milawat’ (adulterated) government for keeping the BJP out of power and take 20 percent commission in every contract or project,” Modi said while addressing an election rally in Gangavathi, 370 km northwest of Bengaluru. The Prime Minister said the previous Congress government head was a “10 percent commission agent”.

“With 10 percent commission agent JD-S joining the Congress, the commission has doubled to 20 percent for every deal. What can you expect from such parties, which fought for years but came together soon fearing the BJP will come to power,” Modi said in his 35-minute speech in Hindi.

Dubbing Italian businessman Ottavio Quattrocchi and British national Christian Michel as Congressional “uncles” for being commission agents in defense deals, Modi alleged that Madhya Pradesh’s new Congress government diverted funds to the party’s election expenses for midday meals in schools.

“Crores of rupees were found in the official residence of a Congress leader from Madhya Pradesh on Tugalak Road in New Delhi. The money was syphoned off from the treasury to fund the party’s campaign,” Modi said.

In urging people to vote for the candidates of the party by pressing the lotus button on the EVM, the Prime Minister said their votes would help him form a strong government at the Center for the country’s overall development. When he welcomed the people in Kannada and lauded them for assembling on a hot summer day, Modi was given a rousing welcome. Claiming that a wave of BJP was sweeping across the country, Modi said there was no doubt about the return to power of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to serve the people for another five years. On the occasion, State BJP President BS Yeddyurappa and other leaders of the party such as Jagadish Shettar and BR Sriramulu attended. The 28 Karnataka Lok Sabha constituencies will go to the polls on April 18 and April 23, respectively, in the second and third phase.

Show More

Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker