2005 Ayodhya terror attack: Four convicts sentenced to life imprisonment, one acquitted

New Delhi

A Special Court in Prayagraj on Tuesday sentenced four convicts to life imprisonment and acquitted one person in the 2005 Ayodhya terror attack case. Special judge Dinesh Chandra was hearing the case.  Due to security reasons, the verdict was announced in Naini Central Jail, where all the accused are imprisoned.

The UP police had arrested five people, Irfan, Ashiq Iqbal alias Farooque, Shakeel Ahmed, Mohammad Naseem and Mohammad Aziz, in the case. Currently, they are lodged at Naini jail in Allahabad. During investigation, the five accused were arrested for conspiracy and providing logistic and material help to terror suspects.

Thirteen years after Babri Masjid was demolished, the disputed site was attacked by Lashkar-e-Taiba on July 5 in 2005. There were six terrorists who had entered India through Nepal. They posed as devotees of Lord Ram as they headed towards Ayodhya. They pretended to be on a pilgrimage to Ayodhya, believed to be the birthplace of Lord Ram. Terrorists were gunned down at the site of incident.

Show More

Related Articles

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker